Australia’s Women Researchers Honoured with Women in Research Citation Awards

Australia’s Women Researchers Honoured with Women in Research Citation Awards Presented by both Clarivate Analytics and The Australian National University

CANBERRA, 26 October 2016 – Some of Australia’s leading researchers have been honoured in the inaugural Women in Research Citation Awards. The awards, jointly presented by Clarivate Analytics and The Australian National University (ANU), honour the outstanding achievements of early to mid-career women researchers in Australia across all fields of research in science, social sciences and the humanities.

The inaugural Women in Research Citation Awards have been presented to 12 leading researchers at a ceremony held at ANU today.

Jeroen Prinsen, vice president and head of the Australia and New Zealand regions for Clarivate Analytics, congratulated the winners and said the awards would help encourage gender equity in research.

“For many years we’ve been recognising Australia’s research excellence and contribution to the global community through a series of Citation Awards. This year we wanted to encourage greater gender equity in research and bring to the forefront outstanding contributions from women in research. We are thus very pleased to be partnering with The Australian National University in presenting the 2016 Women in Research Citation Awards,” Mr Prinsen said.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC said ANU was delighted to be part of the world’s first event to celebrate the success of highly-cited women.

“It is time to make changes in the way research values and recognises women researchers. I have made a commitment at ANU to support and lead in gender equity through the Athena SWAN diversity program. I congratulate Clarivate Analytics for developing this new initiative and congratulate all the award winners,” Professor Schmidt said.

The winners of the Women in Research Citation Awards 2016 are:

Name Organisation Research Discipline
Dr Zoe Bainbridge James Cook University Environmental Science & Management
Dr Alize Ferrari University of Queensland Psychiatric Epidemiology
Dr Ute Knoch University of Melbourne Applied Linguistics
Professor Emma Kowal Deakin University Cultural & Medical Anthropology
Dr Delphine Lannuzel University of Tasmania Chemical & Biological Oceanography
Dr Annie Lau Macquarie University Health Informatics
Dr Margaret Mayfield University of Queensland Plant Ecology
Dr Eugenia Sampayo University of Queensland Marine Ecology
Dr Julie Schneider University of Sydney Health Sciences
Dr Susan Sharma Deakin University Financial Econometrics
Ms Jin Teng CSIRO Climate Modelling
Dr Rachel Wood Australian National University Archaeological Science


The award recipients span a variety of research disciplines and the awards are based on a methodology and analysis of source data from the Web of Science Core Collection, the world’s most trusted source of citation databases.

The methodology focuses on authors affiliated with Australian organisations who first started publishing papers after 2004 and have published at least five papers in a 10-year window. Based on this set of authors, a calculation was done of the number of papers published, the number of papers classified in the top 10% for their citations (taking into account the discipline, publication year and document type) and the percentage of such papers to the number of papers each author has published.

Next, each author was attributed to a broad domain of research and the author who had the best overall performance in each of the domains was selected using metrics. Metrics included the highest percentage of papers in the top 10%, highest number of Highly Cited Papers and/or the highest number of papers as first or reprint author. The gender and career stage of the selected authors were then checked manually and only researchers who met the criteria were selected for the award.

Learn more about the detailed methodology and selection criteria at


About Clarivate Analytics

ClarivateTM Analytics accelerates the pace of innovation by providing trusted insights and analytics to customers around the world, enabling them to discover, protect and commercialize new ideas, faster. Formerly the Intellectual Property and Science business of Thomson Reuters, we’ve been assisting our customers for over 60 years. Now as an independent company with over 4,000 employees, operating in more than 100 countries around the world, we remain expert, objective and agile. For more information, please visit us at


About Australian National University
ANU is among the world’s leading universities. Based in Australia’s capital city, Canberra, ANU has a history of world-leading research and education. As Australia’s only national university, ANU has a special standing as a resource for the Australian people. Our strong focus on research and our approach to education ensures our graduates are in demand the world-over for their abilities to understand, and apply vision and creativity to solve complex contemporary challenges. Visit


Subscribe to our news

Let's stay in touch. Subscribe to our latest announcements.