Clarivate Analytics and Zoological Society of London honor BBC ocean documentary, Blue Planet II

The Zoological Record is a Web of Science component which, in its 154-year history as the world’s leading taxonomic reference, has had a long association with the Zoological Society of London (ZSL).

Zoologists associated with ZSL and the British Museum founded Zoological Record in 1864. In 1886, ZSL assumed complete responsibility for Zoological Record in 1886 and, except for a brief period when Zoological Record formed part of the International Catalogue of Scientific Literature, the society supported and published it until 1980. That year, BIOSIS and ZSL agreed to publish Zoological Record jointly, an arrangement that continued until 2003, when BIOSIS became the sole publisher. In 2004, BIOSIS was acquired by the Thomson Corporation, which in turn acquired Reuters to become Thomson Reuters. As part of the former IP & Science business of Thomson Reuters, Zoological Record is now part of the Clarivate Analytics product portfolio.

As part of the close association of ZSL and Zoological Record which continues today, Clarivate Analytics sponsors an annual ZSL award for communicating zoology, presented in recognition of communication of a zoological nature that has an outstanding impact on a general audience. The impact may be measured in terms of outstanding quality, novelty, innovation, or accessibility for a wide audience.

For 2017, the ZSL awards committee received nominations and selected the TV series Blue Planet II as the recipient. This series, narrated and presented by Sir David Attenborough, has communicated zoology to a large TV audience as well as highlighted and driven debate on the harm that plastics are causing to our wildlife and particularly ocean ecosystems.  We would like to congratulate the whole production team on this outstanding TV series.


Pictured from left are Prof Sir John Beddington (Zoological Society of London President); Mark Brownlow (BBC Series Producer, Blue Planet II); and Nigel Robinson (Director of Content Management, Clarivate Analytics).


Former winners of the award are:


2016 Tim Birkhead for the book The Most Perfect Thing: Inside (and Outside) a Bird’s Egg
2015 Silverback Films for the BBC TV series The Hunt
2014 Brett Westwood and Stephen Moss for the BBC radio 4 programme and book Tweet of the Day
2013 George Monbiot for the book Feral: Searching for Enchantment on the Frontiers of Rewilding
2012 David Liittschwager for the book A World in One Cubic Foot
2011 Nigel Paterson for the BBC television series Planet Dinosaur
2010 Windfall Films for the television series Inside Nature’s Giants
2009 Nick Arnold and Tony de Saulles for the book Wasted World in the Horrible Science book series
2008 Steve Jones for his book Coral: A Pessimist in Paradise
2007 Matthew Cobb for his book The Egg and Sperm Race
2006 Simon King for his contributions to natural history film making
2005 Charles Clover for his book The End of the Line: How Overfishing is Changing the World and what we Eat 2004
2004 Armand Leroi for his book, Channel 4 TV series and public lectures Mutants
2003 Olivia Judson for her book Dr Tatiana’s Sex Advice to All Creation


Learn more about the Zoological Society of London Awards and Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics.