Focus on search & results

Patentability: Planning a search like an examiner

Class description

How thorough must your search be? A US examiner search covers the invention as described and claimed, including the inventive concepts toward which the claims appear to be directed (MPEP § 904). During this live interactive session you will learn how to your plan your search like an examiner.

Wednesday, 6 June 2018
19am New York|2pm London|3pm Berlin
Register
Tuesday, 19 June 2018
4pm New York|1pm Los Angeles
Wednesday, 20 June 2018
8:00 am Auckland
Register

Setting preferences: Best practices on Derwent Innovation

Class description

Join this hands-on session, as an Expert guides you through optimizing the following preference to save you time and make searching more efficient:

  • Search (Default fields on Field search page and accessing search tools)
  • Result Set (Result set customization and family collapse)
  • Record view (Full view vs. Quick View)
  • Highlighting (Highlighting panel and My terms)
Monday, 4 June 2018
10am London| 11am Paris| 2:30pm Mumbai
Register
Monday, 4 June 2018
9am New York| 2pm London| 3pm Paris
Register
Tuesday, 5 June 2018
4pm New York|1pm Los Angeles
Wednesday, 6 June 2018
8:00 am Auckland
Register

Searching on Derwent Innovation: Beyond the basics

Class description

How familiar are you with Derwent Innovation and patent searching? Whether you are a new user or only use the tool occasionally, you will benefit from learning how to quickly find patent data using search tools on Derwent Innovation.  Join this session to learn how to:

  • Use Boolean and proximity operators to either narrow or broaden your search
  • Analyze and refine your search using patent classification systems
  • Use essential functionalities like Results Dashboard, Display and sort options, and Result Set sorting.
  • Find an assignee’s patent portfolio using the Corporate Tree tool
Monday, 14 May 2018
2pm New York| 11am Los Angeles
Register
Tuesday, 15 May 2018
9am London| 10am Paris| 1:30pm Mumbai
Register
Thursday, 24 May 2018
10am Tokyo|11am Sydney|1pm Auckland
Register
Thursday, 31 May 2018
10am London| 11am Paris| 2:30pm Mumbai
Register
Monday, 18 June 2018
10am New York| 3pm London| 4pm Berlin
Register
Thursday, 21 June 2018
10am London| 11am Paris| 2:30pm Mumbai
Register

 

Discovering oppositions, validations & more with advanced INPADOC searching

Class description

Searching the INPADOC legal status codes may seem daunting due to the vast number of codes differing from country to country.  Join this session to know how to:

  • Search the INPADOC legal status on Derwent Innovation
  • Find oppositions, validations, Transfer of rights and more.

 

Wednesday, 20 June 2018
10am London|11am Paris|2:30pm Mumbai
Register