Focus on content

Advanced Masterclass Volume 2: Utilizing Patent Classifications for more comprehensive and accurate searching

Class description

Patent classifications are powerful tools in performing comprehensive and efficient searches. Patent documents may be classified by one or more of the nine patent classification systems featured on Derwent Innovation.  Combining keyword searching with classification code searching will make your search strategy more robust and precise. After this hands-on session you’ll be able to:

  • Understand the differences between the various patent classification systems available on Derwent Innovation
  • Identify the most applicable classification system
  • Find relevant results faster by using the classification code search tool and other essential functionalities like Full Record View and Results Dashboard.
Friday, 18 May 2018
10am London| 11am Paris| 2:30pm Mumbai
Register
Friday, 25 May 2018
9am New York| 2pm London| 3pm Paris
Register
Wednesday, 30 May 2018
2pm New York| 11am Los Angeles
Register
Thursday, 28 June 2018
10am Tokyo|11am Sydney|1pm Auckland
Register

Advanced Masterclass Volume 3: Improving your searches and gaining valuable competitive insights with DPCI citation data

Class description

Derwent Patents Citation Index (DPCI) is a unique family-based citation database, containing citations of patents and literature during the determination of patentability. DPCI citation makes it easy to find patents that are closely related, or to identify patents that are highly influential in a technology space. This session will show you how DPCI can answer questions such as:

  • Who your main competitors are by viewing who is citing your patents?
  • What companies may be interested in buying or licensing your patent?
  • How to find documents that may be useful to oppose a problematic patent?
  • What type of documents an examiner might cite against your application to avoid potential problems in your patent application?

 

Wednesday, 13 June 2018
10am London| 11am Paris| 2:30pm Mumbai
Register
Thursday, 14 June 2018
9am New York| 2pm London| 3pm Paris
Register