中国大陆的专利活动

过去10年,中国大陆的专利申请量持续快速增长,在全球总量中占比巨大,并推动了全球的上升趋势。

如图1所示,2010年至2018年,中国大陆基于德温特世界专利索引™1(DWPI)专利族的发明专利和实用新型专利的公开量激增了440%,成绩傲人。与之形成鲜明对比的是另外两大经济体——美国和日本,几乎没有增长,甚至略有下降。

图1:中国大陆和其他司法管辖区的专利增长率,基于公开年,以2010年作为基础分值100进行归一化

数据来源:德温特世界专利索引™

近年来,中国大陆专利申请量的迅猛增长受益于多个因素,包括国家创新战略、不断增加的研发支出以及国家和地方层面的激励政策。在《中华人民共和国国民经济和社会发展第十二个五年(2011-2015年)规划纲要》和《中华人民共和国国民经济和社会发展第十三个五年(2016-2020年)规划纲要》中,创新成为国家战略的核心目标之一,并在各项相关政策中对专利申请的目标和范围制定了具体指标。

国家统计局数据显示,过去5年,中国大陆的研发支出占国内生产总值的比重一直保持在2%以上,2018年研发支出总额达到1.97万亿元2。专利申请趋势与同期的研发支出趋势呈现出较强的线性相关,表明专利申请量反映了创新活动的实际产出。

与此同时,全国各省市实施的各种补贴计划也起到了推波助澜的作用,企业、大学和研究机构都争相投身于专利申请活动。管理部门注意到了专利爆炸式增长的现象,已开始实施各种政策来规范专利申请和专利审查程序,试图将重点从追求“数量”转向“质量”,例如,在对大学的专利工作进行评估时,越来越重视其商业化能力而不是单纯的专利数量。

进一步研究中国的专利数据会发现,在每年公布的专利总量中,大约有40%~50%是实用新型专利。与发明专利相比,实用新型专利属于保护产品的小发明,对创造性要求较低。此外,实用新型专利的授权不需要经过实质审查,专利保护期限最长10年。虽然有其局限性,但实用新型专利的优势在于申请周期短(通常从申请到授权不到12个月),而且维护成本低。很显然,在中国实用新型专利作为知识产权保护的一种策略被广泛使用。

图2:中国大陆实用新型专利和发明专利的数量变化,基于公开年,按德温特专利族计

数据来源:德温特世界专利索引™

这些专利的创新源头在何方?图3比较了两组专利公开量数据,一组是优先权申请在中国且申请人为中国机构,另一组是优先权申请在国外。意料之中,中国机构每年提交的专利申请数量巨大,从2010年到2018年几乎增长了5倍。相比之下,同期来自外国司法管辖区并在中国大陆寻求保护的专利数量并没有显著变化,只增长了49%。进一步按照司法管辖区对数据进行分析,发现美国始终排在首位,展现了其在中国开展专利活动的持续性。

图3:按优先权统计的中国国内专利和国外来华专利公开量之比较,按照德温特专利族计

数据来源:德温特世界专利索引™

近年来,中国大陆在许多行业处于技术引领地位,尤其是信息和通信技术(ICT)领域,包括电信和移动互联网。新技术和新应用的开发速度和商业化速度前所未有。通过对中国大陆公开专利的DWPI分类代码进行研究也能发现上述趋势。图4基于2018年中国大陆专利的数量列出了主要DWPI分类代码3 。DWPI分类系统将专利文献分为三大类:化学、工程、电子与电气工程。每个大类再进一步划分为若干部分或类别,用于描述专利所涉及的技术领域。数字计算机(电子数据处理器、接口和程序控制、机械数字计算机)排名第一,拥有37万多个专利族。其次是工业电气设备及电话与数据传输系统。

图4:2018年DWPI专利族数量排名前列的DWPI分类代码所对应的技术领域

数据来源:德温特世界专利索引™

中国大陆是一个机会与挑战并存的充满活力的市场。全面充分了解中国大陆的知识产权形势,制定明确的知识产权策略,是企业迈向成功的关键。

 


参考文献

  1. https://clarivate.com/derwent/solutions/derwent-world-patent-index-dwpi/
  2. http://www.gov.cn/guowuyuan/2019-08/30/content_5425965.htm
  3. https://clarivate.com/derwent/dwpi-reference-center/dwpi-classification-system/
分享这篇文章

何园园
Luca Árpási
Derwent
< 1 分钟阅读
Ridhma Dhar
Kenichi Nakajima (中岛健一)

The View from Beijing: patent activity in Mainland China

Mainland China has seen continued rapid growth in patent filings throughout the last decade, accounting for a significant portion of global totals and driving an overall upward trend.

As shown in Figure 1, while the total Derwent World Patents Index™1 (DWPI) patent families for invention patents and utility models published in Mainland China surged to an impressive 440% in 2018 from 2010, in sharp contrast, volumes of some of the world’s other largest economies, such as the United States and Japan, remained almost constant or slightly declined.

Figure 1: Growth rate in Mainland China and other jurisdictions by year of basic publication, normalized to 2010 as baseline score of 100

Source: Derwent World Patents Index

The surge of patent filings over the years in Mainland China was boosted by several factors, including national innovation strategies, growing research and development spending and incentive policies at both the state and local levels. In Mainland China’s Outline of the 12th (2011 to 2015) and 13th (2016 to 2020) Five-Year Plan for the National Economic and Social Development, “innovation” became one of the key objectives for national strategy. Specific metrics on patent filing targets were provided in various related policies.

According to data from the National Bureau of Statistics, Mainland China’s R&D spending has consistently been above 2% of its GDP for the last five years, reaching a total of 1.97 trillion Chinese Yuan in 2018.2 The patenting trend described above shows a strong linear correlation with the R&D expenditure during the same period, suggesting a positive output in the form of patent filings from innovation activities.

In the meantime, various subsidy schemes implemented at different levels across the country certainly provided additional incentives for commercial entities, universities and research institutions to rush to file patent applications. The exploding volume of patents has not gone unnoticed by authorities. It is worth noting that Mainland China has started to implement various policies to regulate patent applications and examination processes, attempting to shift the focus from pursuing ‘quantity’ to ‘quality.’ For example, patents filed by universities are increasingly evaluated by their ability to commercialize rather than by sheer volume.

A closer look at the patent data in Mainland China reveals that, within the total published volume each year, approximately 40% to 50% are utility model patents. Compared to invention patents, utility model patents are small inventions for protecting products, which have lower inventiveness requirements. Further, utility model patents do not require substantive examinations before grant and provide a maximum of a 10-year protection period. With limitations, utility model patents offer a much faster route (usually less than 12 months per grant) and lower cost to maintain. It is clear that utility model patents are widely used as a strategy in Mainland China for IP protection.

Figure 2: Volume of utility model patents and invention patents published in Mainland China, counted as DWPI families by year of basic publication

Source: Derwent World Patents Index

Where are the innovation sources of these patents coming from? Figure 3 compares patent publication volumes in Mainland China originating from domestic organizations where priority filings are also in China, to those where priority filing jurisdictions are foreign. It is not surprising to see filings from domestic organizations delivering a large volume each year, in fact increasing almost five-fold from 2010 to 2018. Comparatively, the volume of patents originating from foreign jurisdictions and seeking protections in Mainland China has not changed substantially, increasing by just 49% over the years. If we further break down by jurisdictions, the United States consistently ranks first, showing its continued patent activities in China.

Figure 3: Comparison of publications in Mainland China from domestic and foreign sources, counted as DWPI families when priority country is either China or foreign, by year of basic publication

Source: Derwent World Patents Index

In recent years Mainland China has led technology development in many industries, especially in the information and communication technology (ICT) sector, including telecommunications and mobile internet. New technologies and applications are being developed and commercialized faster than ever before.

A study on the classification codes covered by patents published in Mainland China reflects the same focus. Figure 4 lists the leading DWPI classification codes3 ranked by publication volume in Mainland China in 2018. The DWPI classification system categorizes patent documents into three broad areas: Chemical, Engineering and Electronic and Electrical Engineering. Each of these is further divided into sections and classes which describe the technical area, or areas, covered by the patent. Digital computers (electronic data processors, interfaces and program control, mechanical digital computers) are ranked first with more than 370k published families. It is followed by industrial electrical equipment, and telephone and data transmission systems.

Figure 4: Top-ranked DWPI classification code descriptions, counted as DWPI families published in 2018

Source: Derwent World Patents Index

Mainland China offers exciting market opportunities and at the same time a challenging environment. Having a well-defined IP strategy in place with the understanding of the overall intellectual property landscape in Mainland China will be one of the key steps towards future success.

 


References

  1. https://clarivate.com/derwent/solutions/derwent-world-patent-index-dwpi/
  2. http://www.gov.cn/guowuyuan/2019-08/30/content_5425965.htm
  3. https://clarivate.com/derwent/dwpi-reference-center/dwpi-classification-system/
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
He Yuanyuan
Luca Árpási
Ridhma Dhar