韩国出台关于故意侵犯专利权的惩罚性赔偿新规

韩国知识产权专家评选出的 2019 年知识产权领域最大新闻是出台了有关惩罚性赔偿的新规定,该规定于 2019 年 1 月46生效。根据该规定,在专利和实用新型侵权案件中2,如法院确认存在“故意”侵权,则可判定不超过补偿性赔偿之三倍金额的惩罚性赔偿。这些有关惩罚性赔偿的新规定旨在通过对涉嫌侵权者施加更严厉的惩罚,以防止被告及其他人士在未事先获得专利权人许可的情况下利用其专利。新增的规定可在《韩国专利法》第 128 条(损害赔偿请求)中找到,新增的第 8 款和第 9 款规定如下:

8) 虽有第1款之规定,但如果侵犯专利权或排他性许可权的行为系出于故意,则法院可根据第 2 款至第 7 款确定补偿性赔偿金额,并在此基础上判定至多三倍的惩罚性赔偿金额。
9) 法院在按照第 8 款判定惩罚性赔偿金额时,应当逐一考虑以下因素:

i) 侵权人是否占有主导地位;
ii) 侵权人是否知晓侵权行为会对专利权人造成损害;
iii) 上述损害的严重程度;
iv) 侵权人从侵权行为中获得的经济利益;
v) 侵权行为发生的频率和时间;
vi) 对侵权行为的刑事处罚;
vii) 侵权人的经济状况;以及
viii) 侵权人为降低专利权人所受损害而做出的努力。

过去,在侵权诉讼中,专利权人负有的举证责任比被告侵权人更繁重。如果侵权人拒绝提交侵权范围和侵权产品等方面的数据,则起诉时附带的此类证据几乎是无法证实的。而且具有讽刺意味的是,即使证实存在专利侵权,但大多数情况下侵权人付出的赔偿金额却少于其在违法行为中获得的利润。

在美国,有关惩罚性赔偿的规定实施已久,美国法官在专利侵权案件中判定的赔偿金额显著高于韩国法官。Darts- ip 提供的数据显示,在美国,被判定赔偿金额超过 1 万美元的专利侵权案件的数量大约是韩国的 5 倍3。因此,韩国改革之前的损害赔偿法规在阻止潜在侵权行为方面并未发挥特别作用。

另一方面,韩国的新增规定还将为中小企业 (SME) 提供更多支持。韩国知识产权局 (KIPO)实施了众多有利于中小企业的政策,例如调减专利申请费和/或专利注册费。在此方面,新规定的出台有利于保护中小企业,借以对抗大型跨国企业 “故意” 做出的专利侵权行为。随后,KIPO 发布了一份指南4,其主要目的在于,为中小企业提供有关防止侵权以及抵抗大企业侵权行为的指导,因为中小企业往往缺乏自我保护的相关资源。此外,值得注意的是,对于大型企业针对中小企业或私人专利权人所持的专利滥用其自身主导地位的恶意、故意侵权行为,法院可判处更严厉的惩罚。

然而,这项新法规引发了一个重要的问题:如何认定“故意”?迄今为止的大多数判例均引用了最高法院于 2005 年5 月 27 日所做的判决 (2004다60584) ,该判决指出 “可通过综合考量记录及论据中反映的专利侵权行为的情形和背景、该行为的性质和市场条件、该行为的持续时间,以及侵权人在侵权争议及其他情形中的态度或故意性来计算赔偿金额” (darts-793-587-B-ko) 。显然,该表述并不足以认定 “故意” ,因为其中涉及的诸多因素都未得到具体说明。

然而,应当指出的是,在韩国,侵权审判通常被分割成两个部分。一方面,专利侵权是一种涉及特定惩罚(例如,对被指控的侵权人处以监禁或罚款)的刑事诉讼程序。另一方面,赔偿是民事诉讼的结果,为获得三倍赔偿,专利权人必须另外提起民事诉讼5。正因如此,有人对这些新法规提出异议,认为其可能引起民事法律与刑事法律的重复适用,从而导致侵权人面临双重惩罚。

总而言之,上述指南6公布了若干可被认定为“明知且故意”的侵权行为类型7;然而,具体判决可能因专家意见和法官的自由裁量权而有所不同。异议人士认为,惩罚性赔偿的实施可能会造成专利权人的权利滥用,同时,民事与刑事审判程序的分割可能会给专利权人和侵权人双方都带来额外的负担。因此,虽然这些新规定的出台看似有利于小型专利权人和中小企业,但在实践中可能产生不同的结果。随着这项改革在 2020 年的推进,韩国亟需树立具体的判例,以促进专利侵权领域的共同发展和公平判决。

 


参考文献

  1. 该制度涵盖大约 16 个其他规定,包括《专利法》、《防止不正当竞争法》和《商业秘密保护法》等,但本文侧重于专利和实用新型侵权。
  2. 本文所述的专利侵权均包括实用新型侵权。
  3. 来源:app.darts-ip.com,2010 年至 2019 年期间所判定的赔偿金额超过 1 万 美元的案件。
  4. 《针对故意侵犯专利权之行为实施惩罚性赔偿之中小企业防范指南》,KIPO,2020年1月。
  5. http://www.junggi.co.kr/article/articleView.html?no=24597
  6. 参见脚注 4。
  7. 1) 在收到警告信或者在提起诉讼之后发生的侵权行为
    2) 在许可合同终止之后发生的侵权行为
    3) 在确认其知晓该专利的情况下发生的侵权行为
分享这篇文章

何园园
Luca Árpási
Derwent
< 1 分钟阅读
Ridhma Dhar
Derwent
< 1 分钟阅读
王天汉
Kenichi Nakajima (中岛健一)

New provisions on punitive damages for willful patent infringement in South Korea

The biggest IP news of 2019, as selected by IP experts in South Korea, is the introduction of new provisions in relation to punitive damages, which took effect in July 2019.1 According to these provisions, a court can award up to triple the amount of compensatory damages in the case of a patent and utility model infringement2, where ‘willfulness’ is confirmed. The new legislation on punitive damages is expected to prevent defendants and others from exploiting any patented item without the permission of the patent holder beforehand, by imposing harsher punishments for alleged infringers. The newly-added provisions can be found in article 128 (claim for compensation for damages) of the Korean Patent Act, new paragraphs 8 and 9 which state the following:

  • 8) Notwithstanding paragraph 1, the court may award damages up to three times the amount of damages determined pursuant to paragraphs 2 to 7, if the activity infringing the patent right or the exclusive license right is found to be willful.
  • 9) The court shall consider each of the following factors in considering the damages pursuant to paragraph 8:
    1. i) whether the infringer has a dominant position;
    2. ii) whether the infringer knew the act of infringement would cause harm to a patent owner;
    3. iii) the significance of any such damages;
    4. iv) the economic benefits to the infringer from the infringement;
    5. v) how frequently and how long the infringing activity was committed;
    6. vi) the criminal penalty for the infringing activity;
    7. vii) the infringer’s financial status; and
    8. viii) what efforts the infringer has made to reduce the harm to the patent owner.

In the past, patent owners had a heavier burden of proof than an accused infringer in infringement litigation. The lawsuit would be filed with evidence such as a scope of infringement and infringing products, which was considered impossible to prove when the infringer refused to submit this data. Furthermore, even if proven to be a patent violation, the amount of compensation from the act of infringement is, in most cases, ironically smaller than the profits gained by the infringer during their illegal conduct.

In the United States, where punitive damages have been enforced for a long period of time, judges impose a more significant amount of compensation for damages in patent infringement than in South Korea. As a matter of fact, according to data sourced from Darts-ip, the number of cases involving damages of more than $10,000 USD in patent infringement actions is approximately five times higher in the United States than in South Korea.3 Thus, the damage compensation laws prior to the reform did not have any particular influence in discouraging potential infringers in South Korea.

The newly-added provision is also meaningful in terms of supporting small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). The Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO) enforces many policies for the sake of SMEs, for example, the reduction of patent application and/or registration fees. In this regard, the introduction of the new provisions can be interpreted as being favorable to SMEs, protecting against the ‘intentional’ patent violations by large multinational corporations. Consequently, a guideline4 has been published by the KIPO, primarily for SMEs, to provide instructions for preventing infringement as well as informing how to confront large companies, as SMEs usually lack the resources to do so on their own. Furthermore, it is noteworthy that stronger penalties can be imposed in the context of malicious, willful infringement where large corporations abuse their dominant position on patents held by SMEs or private patentees.

However, this new legislation does give rise to an important question: how can ‘willfulness’ be defined?

Most of the cases to date cite a Supreme Court decision on May 27, 2005 (2004다60584), stating that “the damages can be calculated by comprehensively considering the circumstances and background of the infringement of the patent rights, the nature and market conditions of the operation, the duration in which the infringement of the patent rights was sustained, the attitude or the willfulness of infringers during the infringement dispute and other circumstances shown in the records and arguments” (darts-793-587-B-ko). This is clearly insufficient for determining the ‘intention’ as multiple factors are involved in a broad concept.

Nevertheless, it should be pointed out that an infringement trial usually becomes divided into two parts in South Korea. On one hand, a patent infringement is a criminal proceeding that entails certain penalties, such as imprisonment or fines to an accused infringer. On the other hand, the compensation comes as a result of a civil proceeding and must be filed separately by a patentee in order to get compensated up to triple the amount.5 For this reason, there has been some opposition to the new damage provision, as it could lead to confusion between civil and criminal laws resulting in potential double punishment of the infringers.

In conclusion, the guidebook6 addresses several cases7 that may be identified as acts of infringement committed ‘knowingly and purposely’; however, the judgment may vary depending on experts’ views and judges’ discretion. Opponents of this new measure claim that the punitive damage implementation may create abuse by patentees, and the divided proceedings between civil and criminal trials might put an additional burden on both patent holders and infringers. Therefore, the introduction of these provisions seems to favor small patent holders and SMEs; however, it may be different in practice. As we proceed through 2020 with this change, it will be important to develop concrete cases in order to promote mutual growth and fair judgement in the field of patent infringement.

 


References

  1. The system is defined by about 16 other provisions, including the Patent Act, the Unfair Competition Prevention and Trade Secret Protection Act, etc., but this article focuses on patent and utility model infringement.
  2. The patent infringement mentioned throughout this article includes utility model infringement.
  3. Source: app.darts-ip.com, The cases ruled more than 10,000 USD of the compensation for damages between 2010 and 2019.
  4. “A preventive guideline for SMEs of the introduction of punitive damages resulted from willful patent infringement”, KIPO, Jan.2020.
  5. http://www.junggi.co.kr/article/articleView.html?no=24597
  6. Referenced in footnote 29.
  7. 1) an act of Infringement after receiving a warning letter or a lawsuit has been filed
    2) an act of infringement after the termination of the license contract
    3) an act of infringement in cases to believe that he was well aware of the patent.
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
He Yuanyuan
Luca Árpási
Ridhma Dhar