过去十年日本专利活动的演变过程

2008年的全球金融危机(GFC)对世界各地的众多企业造成了影响,这种影响亦波及到企业的专利活动。在日本,随着市场的震荡,很多公司的专利申请量下滑。从2008年到2012年,东京证券交易所的日经平均股价指数暴跌了近1万日元。

2013年之后,日经指数反弹至2.3万日元左右,高于金融危机前。然而,日本的专利申请数量并未恢复,仍低于危机前的水平。这意味着,2008年的全球金融危机从根本上改变了日本企业寻求专利保护的方式。

图1:日本的专利申请情况

数据来源: 德温特世界专利索引

2019年日本特许厅公布的报告34显示,来自日本公司的专利申请数量从2010年的344,397件一路下滑至2018年的313,028件。与之相反的是,外国公司在日本提出的专利申请数量却一直维持在2万件左右。

对德温特世界专利索引中的日本数据进行分析可以得出类似结果。图1对比了日本本土专利申请(本地指标)和非本国申请人在日本申请(外部指标)的情况,可以看出日本国内公司的专利申请数量正在减少,而外国公司的申请量保持稳定。

从历史上看,日本企业一直受益于在电视、手机和音响设备等消费类电子产品领域的巨大市场份额。如今,随着中国企业和韩国企业在制造业和创新领域的快速发展以及市场份额的大幅增加,无论在技术上还是地域上,市场格局都发生了天翻地覆的变化。

由此引发出一个问题:虽然日本经济正在复苏,但市场规律和金融危机是否是导致日本企业的发明创造活动走向衰退的原因?

答案是否定的。

事实是日本公司的战略发生了改变。他们的关注点不再是专利申请数量,而开始有所选择,重视专利申请的质量和实用性以及更有效的支出预算。日本的制造业企业经历了全球化大潮的洗礼。

事实上,日本经济实体(包括政府、学术机构和企业)的研发投入仍十分强劲(图2)。

图2:日本的研发投入

数据来源:世界银行

过去,由于研发和制造基地主要在本国,为了抵御竞争对手,日本企业在本国提交了大量与产品相关的专利申请,而忽视了发明质量。

日本特许厅2019年的报告显示,日本的专利申请数量有所下降,但专利签发(为授权专利颁发专利证书)数量却从2014年的约15万件增加到了18万件。这一迹象显著表明日本的战略重点已经从发明数量转向了发明质量。

从全球的角度来看,日本公司的研发和制造基地已经不再囿于本国,而转移扩散至亚洲各地。因此,日本公司的专利策略也随之发生了改变。

这一点从日本央行2018年的一份报告35 中可见一斑,报告中介绍了日本申请人向外国公司收取专利权使用费的情况。报告所追踪的数据显示,2010年该项费用仅逾1万亿日元,到2017年已增至3万亿日元,专利被许可人主要是亚洲和美国的实体。多数情况下,专利被许可方是专利许可方的子公司,子公司利用母公司的专利制造商品,位于日本的母公司会向这些海外子公司收取专利许可费。

最后,再来看一下2019年日本特许厅的报告,报告显示,2014年至2018年,来自日本的专利合作条约(Patent Cooperation Treaty,PCT,一种寻求国际专利保护的途径)申请数量有所增加(从大约4万件增长到5万件)。然而,尽管越来越多的日本公司通过PCT途径在其子公司所在地和市场增加专利申请的投入,但日本公司的专利申请和审查预算并没有增加,稳定保持在5,000亿日元左右。

这些数据透露出一个关键点,即日本公司的重点发生了改变。在知识产权经费预算有限且未见增长的情况下,日本创新者不得不对专利的覆盖地区的必要性进行重新审视。公司必须专注于那些更具影响力、更优质的发明,更加重视专利保护的地域性,以在子公司所在地提交更重要的专利申请。

如果简单地观察日本的专利活动尤其是日本本土公司的专利活动减少,可能会导致一种错误的观点,即日本的创新活动在衰退。过去,日本公司的研发、生产以及销售都根植于本土。

如今,2020年,情况已完全不同,研发转移到位于其他地区的子公司,制造业的足迹更是遍及整个亚洲。既然知识产权的经费预算有限,开展专利活动时就更加需要深思熟虑。与10年前相比,无论专利的质量、专利的选择还是专利申请的学问都已大不相同,日本的专利活动自然也随之发生了改变。

 


参考文献

  1. 2019 日本专利局 (JPO) 报告 https://www.jpo.go.jp/resources/report/nenji/2019/ebook/book.pdf
  2. 2019 日本知识产权局报告 https://www.jpo.go.jp/resources/report/nenji/2019/ebook/book.pdf
  3. 2018日本银行报告, https://www.boj.or.jp/statistics/br/bop_06/bop2017a.pdf, 日本工业产权许可收费趋
分享这篇文章

何园园
Luca Árpási
Derwent
< 1 分钟阅读
Ridhma Dhar
Derwent
< 1 分钟阅读
王天汉

How pursuing patents in Japan has evolved over the past decade

Many companies worldwide were impacted by the 2008 Global Financial Crisis (GFC) and the effect resonated in their patent activities. In Japan, many if not most companies decreased patent applications after the market crash that followed. The Tokyo Stock Exchange (Nikkei Average) slumped around 10,000 JPY between 2008 to 2012.

After 2013, the Nikkei Average rebounded to about 23,000 JPY – higher than before the crisis. The number of patent applications in Japan, however, have not recovered and are still lower than pre-crisis levels. The implication is that the 2008 GFC has fundamentally shifted the way Japanese companies pursue patent protection.

Figure 1: Japanese patent filing activity

Source: Derwent World Patents Index

In the 2019 report published by the Japan patent office1, the number of patent applications by Japanese companies continues to decrease from 344,397 Japanese applications in 2010 to 313,028 applications in 2018. Conversely, the number of Japanese patent applications made by foreign companies has remained consistent at approximately 20,000 applications.

This compares well to our analysis of Derwent World Patents Index data for Japan. A comparison between locally filed first (domestic proxy) and foreign filed first (foreign proxy) patent activity (Figure 1) indicates that Japanese patent applications by domestic companies are decreasing while the number of applications by foreign companies remains stable.

Historically, Japanese companies have benefited from large market shares in consumer electronics products like televisions, mobile phones and sound equipment. Today, these markets have undergone significant disruption – both technologically and geographically, with manufacturing and innovation market share hugely increased by Chinese and Korean firms.

The question all of this raises is: have market forces and financial crises caused the invention creation activities of Japanese companies to become sluggish despite the recovery of the Japanese economy?

The answer is no.

Instead, the strategy of Japanese companies changed. They have shifted focus from the quantity of patents filed to being more selective and focused on the quality and usefulness of patent application and better spend of budgets. Japanese manufacturing firms have also undergone significant globalization.

Indeed, R&D investment by Japanese entities (including government, academic and corporate entities) is definitively not sluggish (Figure 2).

Figure 2: Japanese R&D investment

Source:World Bank

In the past, Japanese companies filed many patent applications related to products in Japan regardless of the invention quality simply to defend against their competitor’s patent application; R&D and manufacturing base were primarily in Japan.

In the 2019 JPO report2, the number of patent applications in Japan decreased but the number of patent issuances (where applications grant registered patent rights) increased from approximately 150,000 in 2014 to 180,000. This is a strong indication that a shift in focus occurred from volume to quality of invention.

From a global perspective, the R&D and manufacturing base of Japanese companies has shifted to a much wider footprint across Asia. As the result, Japanese companies have changed their approach to patent strategies.

Part of this is evident in a 2018 Bank of Japan report3 concerning licensing fees generated by Japanese applicants to foreign companies. The report tracked an increase from just over one trillion JPY in 2010 to 3 trillion in 2017, with Asian and American entities as major licensees. In most cases, the licensee is a subsidiary of licensor manufacturing their products, and Japanese companies receive the license fee from the subsidiaries based on their patents filed in subsidiaries’ location.

Finally, the 2019 JPO report showed that Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT fast-track, a route to international patent protection) by applicants located in Japan increased between 2014 and 2018 from approximately 40,000 to 50,000. However, while Japanese companies are increasingly investing for patent filing in their subsidiaries’ locations and market via PCT, the budget for patent prosecution by Japanese companies has not increased and remained stable at approximately 500 billion JPY.

The story generated from this data is one of a pivot and change in focus. Japanese innovators have had to review the necessity of Japanese patent coverage in an environment of limited and non-growing intellectual property budgets. Firms have had to focus on inventions that are more impactful and higher quality, as well as more carefully protected geographically, to file important applications in their subsidiaries’ location.

A simple view of declining Japanese patent activity, particularly by local firms, can lead to an incorrect view that Japanese innovation has itself reduced. In the past, Japanese firms performed their R&D in Japan, they manufactured in Japan and they sold in Japan.

This simply isn’t the case in 2020 – R&D has shifted to subsidiaries in other locations and the manufacturing footprint is much more pan-Asian. IP budgets are lower, but this has necessitated a more thoughtful approach to patent activity. Quality, selectivity and wisdom in patent filing is different from 10 years ago, and Japanese patent activity has changed in response.

 


References

  1. 2019 Japan patent office (JPO) report
    https://www.jpo.go.jp/resources/report/nenji/2019/ebook/book.pdf
  2. 2019 JPO report https://www.jpo.go.jp/resources/report/nenji/2019/ebook/book.pdf
  3. Bank of Japan Report 2018, https://www.boj.or.jp/statistics/br/bop_06/bop2017a.pdf, Licensing fee trend in Japan of industrial property rights
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
He Yuanyuan
Luca Árpási
Ridhma Dhar