亚太地区的域名管理

许多企业依赖于各自的网站等互联网平台,向其客户介绍信息并与其开展业务、建立并强化自身的品牌。为实现这一点,这些企业需要不断地、积极地对自身的域名组合进行管理,以便把握新机会、防止遭遇侵权或其他形式的滥用行为,从而避免品牌资产和收益遭受损失。在域名管理方面,亚太地区的企业面临着独特的挑战、威胁和机遇。

选择公司注册机构

2019 年,亚太地区共有 220 家企业登上《财富》500 强榜单1,其中一半以上来自中国大陆。在这些全球知名企业中,仅 21.4% 的(47 个)域名由公司注册机构来管理。

图 1:登上《财富》500 强榜单的亚太公司

 

国家/地区 借助公司注册机构的企业数量 品牌所有者
中国大陆 19 阿里巴巴、华为、腾讯、联想等
日本 18 日产、三菱、松下、NEC 等
澳大利亚 5 沃尔沃斯集团、澳大利亚国民银行
沙特阿拉伯 2 沙特阿美、沙伯基础
新加坡 2 丰益国际、伟创力
韩国 1 KB金融集团

 

全球使用企业域名注册服务商的平均比例 为65.7%,而亚太地区仅为44.2%,相比之下,亚太地区这一占比低得惊人。企业域名注册服务商采用了更多的安全保护功能,例如,域名保护锁、双重身份验证和 DNSSEC,这些功能可帮助企业防止域名劫持,从而防止有价值的域名被盗、为企业带来丰厚利润的网站被关闭。亚太地区大部分企业将各自的重要网站域名交给零售域名注册服务商来管理,因而面临更大的风险。

在这些零售域名注册服务商中,中国大陆的阿里云、日本的日本注册服务公司以及中国的新网管理着亚太地区 40% 的《财富》500 强企业的域名。

如果我们了解了域名管理的复杂性和挑战,以及域名管理模式及策略,我们可能会发现这些企业为何不选择公司注册机构的几个原因。

域名管理挑战

域名的管理面临许多挑战(尤其是对于在亚太地区运营的企业),这些挑战包括管理域名注册请求,以及追踪世界各地的注册运营机构政策并及时续期——其中大部分运营商无法提供支持亚洲语言的注册服务,其服务条款通常未被译成日文、韩文或中文。因此,亚洲企业往往选择不注册过多的国家和地区顶级域名( ccTLD 域名)。然而,企业域名注册服务商可提供通晓境外注册要求、转让要求,以及世界各地注册运营商续期要求的 域名专家咨询服务。目前,亚太地区的企业域名注册服务商寥寥可数,因此,该地区的品牌所有者必须选择境外的企业域名注册服务商(因而面临语言方面的挑战),或者,选择本地的零售域名注册服务商。

另一项挑战在于安全防护。亚太地区大多数企业反映,安全性是域名管理中最重要的因素。然而在亚太地区,安全漏洞往往因糟糕的域名管理,而非因蓄意的黑客攻击而产生。因此,这些企业花费了大量资金来解决本可通过企业域名注册服务商来避免的安全漏洞问题,这些额外的费用通常比企业域名注册服务商产生的费用略高,因此,这些企业并没有动力去寻找更高效的企业域名注册服务商。

2017 年 11 月,中国工业和信息化部(MIIT)宣布将对在中国大陆发布网站的企业实施监管。每个网站运营商必须持有互联网内容提供商 (ICP) 网站备案,才能在中国大陆运营内容解析网站。MIIT 的规定要求,持有 ICP 网站备案之企业的域名必须由 MIIT 许可的注册服务商予以管理。目前,所有获得许可的注册服务商均是中国本地注册服务商,而且几乎全是零售域名注册服务商,在此背景下,亚太地区的企业更加缺乏动力去寻求企业域名注册服务商提供的专业知识、服务和额外的安全保护。

在亚太地区企业中,由谁领头实施域名管理?

中国大陆的大多数企业将域名管理工作交给各自的法务部门来完成。相比之下,在日本企业中,在域名管理方面扮演更重要角色的部分通常是营销部门。营销团队需要为日本企业完成约 10-20% 的域名注册与管理工作,其余工作则由 IT 及其他部门来完成。由于域名续期成本通常包含在广告成本中,而广告成本通常属于营销团队管理的成本项,因此,更有可能负责域名管理的是营销团队,而非法务或 IT 部门。

在亚太地区,企业的域名组合策略并不太全面。不幸的是,许多企业所做的仅仅是对其现有域名不断地进行续期,直至出现侵权或收购需求——此时,营销团队需要与法务、IT 和财务等多个部门配合,共同制定旨在扩大或保护企业域名组合的战略。

图 2:MarkMonitor™ 2019 年全球商业调查晴雨表

有限的预算

在域名注册与管理的预算方面,MarkMonitor™ 最近的一项调查表明,在参与该调查的亚太地区企业中,近半企业的域名管理预算非常有限(不足 1 万美元),只有不到 15% 的企业的预算在 5 万至 10 万美元之间。

图 3:MarkMonitor™ 2019 年全球商业调查晴雨表

对公司注册服务的需求

亚太地区的大多数大型企业将自己的域名交给多家域名注册服务商来管理,这通常是在成本控制、政策过时或缺乏关注的原因下做出的低效选择。尽管此做法效率低下或缺少工具,但一些企业并不介意与多家零售域名注册服务商合作。亚太地区的许多企业缺乏基本的域名知识,也不太了解选择企业域名注册服务商来管理域名所带来的裨益。他们不知道自己可获得哪些独特的服务,也不知道该向谁寻求有关 域名 注册的建议。由于缺乏域名知识,这些企业也难以确定如何改进其域名管理工作。

亚太地区企业域名所有者的关键考虑事项

亚太地区的企业在开发和管理其域名组合时,应当牢记一些关键的考虑事项:

  • 域名战略需要融入广泛的品牌保护举措之中
  • 域名应当由 IT、IT 安全、市场营销和法务部门协同管理
  • 域名组合必须得到保护和管理,以确保其持续为企业增加价值
  • 应当对域名价值予以监测,以确保活跃的、核心的域名获得保护和管理,同时将其他域名予以清理,以优化域名组合。

参考文献

  1. https://fortune.com/fortune500/
分享这篇文章

Darts-ip
2 分钟阅读
Hazal Çisem Aynalı

Domain management in the Asia-Pacific region

Many companies rely on their internet presence to inform and do business with their customers and to build and strengthen their brands. To accomplish this requires constant, active management of their portfolio of domain names in order to take advantage of new opportunities, and to prevent infringement or other forms of abuse that can undermine brand equity and revenue. Companies in the Asia-Pacific region of the world have their own unique challenges, threats and opportunities when it comes to domain name management.

Use of corporate registrars

In 2019, there were 220 companies from APAC listed in the Fortune 5001, with more than half from Mainland China. Among those globally recognized companies only 21.4% of them, 47 domains, are managed by corporate registrars.

Figure 1: APAC companies listed on Fortune 500

 

Country/region No. of companies using corporate registrar Brand owners
China, Mainland 19 Alibaba; Huawei; Tencent; Lenovo etc.
Japan 18 Nissan; Mitsubishi; Panasonic; Nec etc.
Australia 5 Woolworths Group; National Australia Bank
Saudi Arabia 2 Saudi Aramco; SABIC
Singapore 2 Wilmar International; FLEX
South Korea 1 KB Financial Group

 

The percentage is surprisingly low compared to 44.2% globally, and 65.7% outside of APAC. Corporate registrars have added security features such as registry lock, two factor authentication and DNSSEC that can help companies prevent domain name hijacking resulting in valuable domain names being stolen and lucrative websites being brought down. By leaving their important website domains to be managed by retails registrars, companies in APAC are exposing themselves to greater risk.

Among the retail registrars, AliCloud from Mainland China, Japan Registry Service from Japan, and Xinnet from China manage 40% of these Fortune 500 company domains in APAC.

If we examine the domain management complexity, challenges and managing models and strategies, we may find several reasons why these companies are not switching to corporate registrars.

Domain management challenges

There are many challenges around domain management, particularly for companies operating in APAC, including managing domains calls for registration, monitoring and renewing with registry operators from around the world, most of which do not make registration services easy for Asian speakers. Terms and conditions are often not translated into Japanese, Korean or Chinese languages. As a result, companies in Asia choose not to register many ccTLD domains. Corporate registrars though, in particular, have TLD experts that specialize in foreign registration requirements, transfer requirements and renewal requirements for each registry operator around the world. Currently there are a very limited number of corporate registrars in APAC, so brands must either choose a corporate registrar outside of its native country and face language challenges or choose to stay with a local retail registrar.

Another challenge is security. Most APAC companies report that security is the most important factor in domain management. However, security breaches in APAC are often the result of poor domain management rather than deliberate hacking attacks. As a result, companies will spend a lot of money to address breaches which could have been avoided with a corporate registrar but this extra expense is typically a little more than what companies would spend with retail registrars, so APAC companies aren’t motivated to explore more efficient corporate registrars.

In November 2017, the Chinese government (the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT)) announced they would enforce regulations on companies publishing websites in Mainland China. Each website publisher must have an Internet Content Provider (ICP) filing in order to operate a website that resolves to content in Mainland China. The MIIT regulations require that those with an ICP filing must have their domain names managed by a registrar licensed by MIIT. Currently, all the licensed registrars are local and nearly all of them are retail registrars which, again creates a burden for APAC companies seeking the services, extra security and expertise of a corporate registrar.

Who takes the lead on domain management inside APAC companies?

In most companies located in Mainland China, the legal department manages domains. In Japan, by contrast, the marketing department typically plays a greater role in domain management. The marketing team performs about 10% to 20% of domain registration and management for Japanese companies, while IT and other departments manage the rest. Because domain renewal costs are usually included in advertising costs, a cost area typically managed by marketing teams, marketing teams are more likely to manage domain names than legal or IT.

Domain portfolio strategies are not as comprehensive as they might be in APAC. Unfortunately, many companies just keep renewing their existing domains until there is an infringement or acquisition demand, which then requires teams to collaborate with multiple departments such as legal, IT and finance for a strategy to expand or protect the domain name portfolio.

Figure 2: MarkMonitor Global Business Survey Barometer, 2019

Limited budgets

As for the budget for domain registration and management, a recent MarkMonitor survey showed that nearly half of participating APAC companies have very limited budgets for domain name management (less than $10,000) and less than 15% of companies have budgets between $50,000 to $100,000.

Figure 3: MarkMonitor Global Business Survey Barometer, 2019

Demand for corporate registration service

Most large companies in APAC work with multiple registrars to manage their domains, an inefficient choice often made due to cost, old policies or lack of interest. Some companies aren’t bothered by having to work with multiple retail registrars despite the inefficiencies or lack of tools. Many companies in APAC lack basic domain name knowledge and also lack an understanding of the benefits of using a corporate registrar. They don’t understand what unique services are available or whom they should turn to for advice on TLD registrations. A lack of domain knowledge also leads to challenges in identifying how to improve their domain management work.

Key considerations for APAC corporate domain owners

There are many key considerations a company in APAC should keep in mind when developing and managing its domain name portfolio:

  • Domain strategies need to be part of wider brand protection initiatives.
  • Domains should be managed in collaboration between departments including IT, IT security, marketing and legal.
  • Domain portfolios must be secured and managed to ensure they continue to add value to the business.
  • Domain value should be monitored to ensure active, core domains are protected and managed, while other domains are offloaded to optimize the portfolio.

 


References

  1. https://fortune.com/fortune500/
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
Hazal Çisem Aynalı
Heidi Zhang