亚太地区域名仲裁趋势

随着世界各地的企业纷纷扩大在线业务,域名知识产权的认定变得越来越重要——尤其是对于从事电子商务、使用高价值商标在线提供商品和服务的企业。在此背景下,域名抢注案件的数量呈现出逐年上升的趋势1

域名争端管辖规则因域名后缀的不同而有所不同2。《统一域名争议解决政策》 (UDRP) 规定了用于通用顶级域名 (gTLD) 和部分国家代码顶级域名 (ccTLD) 的域名争端解决规则3,其他 ccTLD 争端则受各自的争端解决政策管辖。

目前有六个获得“互联网名称与数字地址分配机构 (ICANN) ”认可的争端解决机构,负责对世界各地的 UDRP 争端进行裁决:世界知识产权组织 (WIPO)、美国国家仲裁论坛 (the Forum)、亚洲域名争议解决中心 (ADNDRC)、捷克仲裁法庭 (CAC)、阿拉伯域名争端解决中心 (ACDR),以及加拿大国际互联网争端解决中心 (CIIDRC) 4。这些机构的补充规则、费用和诉讼期限可能各不相同,投诉人可自由选择其中任一机构发起域名争端投诉。

本文将重点介绍 ADNDRC5,并探讨澳大利亚和印度 ccTLD 仲裁案件的法律趋势。

亚洲域名争议解决中心 (ADNDRC)

亚洲域名争议解决中心 (ADNDRC) 在香港 (HKIAC)、中国大陆 (CIETAC)、马来西亚 (AIAC) 和韩国 (IDRC) 设有4个办事处6,负责处理来自世界各地(无论当事人是何国籍)的 UDRP 案件。投诉人可选择向该中心的任一办事处提交投诉。对于涉及 5 个以内域名的争端,ADNRC 办事处收取的争端解决费用在 1,300 美元到 3,300 美元之间,具体费用取决于投诉人要求的仲裁员人数7

尽管 UDRP 争端解决案件具有明确的期限规则和程序规则限制,但不同 UDRP 机构的程序周期仍有不同。图 1 显示了 ADNDRC 平均周期与其他 UDRP 机构平均周期的比较情况:

图 1:各机构UDRP 程序的平均周期

数据来源:Darts-ip™

投诉人选择争端解决机构的决定性因素包括:申请费、地理距离和获得裁决所需的平均周期。尽管此方面的统计数据表明ADNDRC处理案件用时较长,但其仍然是亚洲投诉人和被投诉人的首选机构。图 2 中还有一点值得注意的是,在住所位于开曼群岛的投诉人中,绝大多数案件与投诉人阿里巴巴集团 (Alibaba Group) 和腾讯控股 (Tencent Holdings) 相关。

图 2:投诉人和被投诉人的国籍/属地及胜诉率

数据来源:Darts-ip  

亚洲被投诉人数量较多,这一情况可从多个角度加以解释。首先,当被投诉人位于 ADNDRC 的某个办事处附近时,住所位于亚洲大陆以外的投诉人更倾向于向 ADNDRC 提交投诉。考虑到中国大陆有大量公司在该地区注册成立8,该结果并不足为奇。

其次,数据表明,住所位于亚洲的投诉人更倾向于向仲裁员与被投诉人国籍相同的争端解决机构提交 UDRP 投诉。这也证实了,在选择 UDRP 机构时,地理距离因素存在重要影响。

深入探究 auDRP 和 INDRP

印度 (.in) 和澳大利亚 (.au) 的国家代码 TLD 分别受《印度域名争议解决政策》 (INDRP) 和《澳大利亚域名争议解决政策》(auDRP)管辖。

尽管 INDRP 和 auDRP 争端的提交政策和程序可能看似与 UDRP 争端非常相似(尤其是auDRP,因为它被视为 UDRP 的变体)9,但一些亚洲争端解决机构与 UDRP 争端解决机构之间的主要区别在于对被投诉人恶意的评估标准。UDRP有一项累加性要求,即投诉人必须证明,被投诉人出于恶意注册并使用争端域名10,而 auDRP 和 INDRP则有所不同,其认为使用或注册行为之一即足以构成恶意11。因此,对于域名抢注案件,仲裁裁决会出现截然不同的结果。在一些 UDRP 案件中,WIPO 曾对恶意使用和恶意注册同步做出过详细评估12,而其他仲裁组则曾基于使用行为本身 “推断出” 恶意注册行为13。这两种情形均已满足上述累加性要求。

相比之下,如果已证实存在恶意使用或恶意注册,INDRP 和 auDRP 仲裁员会停止评估14,还会指明政策之间的差异:“与 UDRP不同的是,(INDRP 或 auDRP) 对恶意注册和恶意使用的认定要求是相互分离的。投诉人仅须证明争端域名被恶意注册或者被恶意使用,而无须证明同时存在上述两种情况。15

至于 INDRP与 auDRP之间的对比,尽管这两者之间并不存在类似于上述与 UDRP 之间的严格区别,但澳大利亚仲裁法院、WIPO(针对 .au)和印度特别法庭对于域名争端也分别采取了不同的处理方法。图3举例说明了这三个仲裁机构对同一案件的不同处理方式16

图 3:AU17、WIPO 与 .IN 仲裁庭的不同裁决倾向比较

数据来源:Darts-ip™

在缺乏全球统一的、明确且严格的域名争端解决规则的情况下,鉴于判例对裁决的无可辩驳的影响,认识不同仲裁机构对相同或类似法律争端的不同处理方法,比以往任何时候都更显重要。基于此,我们将看到互联网的国际性将如何影响 ADNDRC、UDRP 亚洲办事处和亚太地区 ccTLD 争端解决机构对于统一规则的态度。在此背景下,全面分析不同仲裁机构的法律倾向以及反映其程序性与管理性差异的统计数据,必将为裁决和政策制定提供极大帮助。

 


参考文献

  1. https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/statistics/cases.jsp
  2. 域名后缀也被称为顶级域名 (TLD),即网站 URL 的末尾部分(例如,.com、.eu、.net、.club 等)。
  3. 欲了解哪些 ccTLD 在 UDRP 的管辖范围内,请访问:https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/cctld/
  4. https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/providers-6d-2012-02-25-en
  5.  亚洲域名争议解决中心
  6. https://www.adndrc.org/about_us
  7. https://www.adndrc.org/files/udrp/ADNDRC-Supplemental-Rules-for-UDRP.pdf
  8. https://domainnamestat.com/statistics/country/others
  9. https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/cctld/au/index.html
  10. 有关 UDRP 第 4(a)(iii) 段,请访问:https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/policy-2012-02-25-en
  11. 有关 INDRP第 4(iii) 段和 auDRP 第 4(a)(iii) 段,请访问:https://www.registry.in/IN%20Domain%20Name%20Dispute%20Resolution%20Policy%20%28INDRP%29 & https://www.auda.org.au/policies/index-of-published-policies/2016/2016-01/
  12. darts-919-465-H-en-4: “(…) 如果被投诉人在投诉人的商标权利产生之前注册域名,则仲裁小组通常不会认定被投诉人存在恶意。虽然单从这一点即可从技术上结束该问题,但根据政策要求,必须同时做出对恶意注册和恶意使用的认定,因此,仲裁小组还认定,被投诉人并非出于恶意而使用争端域名。被投诉人似乎出于商业或个人目的而使用争端域名,没有证据证明此行为属于恶意使用。”darts-174-463-H-en-4: “仲裁小组认定,被投诉人存在恶意使用,但不存在恶意注册。”
  13. darts-517-955-H-en: “因此,仲裁小组认定,使用域名停放服务构成恶意使用争端域名 (…) 。此外,仲裁小组还指出,鉴于投诉人在 (…) 商标方面的利益和声誉,以及被投诉人后续恶意使用争端域名之行为,通常足以让仲裁小组做出被投诉人还存在恶意注册该域名之行为的推论。”
  14. darts-014-053-I-e: “……由于被投诉人注册该域名之行为并非出于善意,因此该注册属于恶意注册。”
  15. darts-508-724-H-en
  16. 此处对位于澳大利亚的 auDRP 争端解决机构的裁决和 WIPO 的 DAU 裁决进行分别统计。
  17. AU 是指澳大利亚仲裁案件。
分享这篇文章

MarkMonitor
< 1 分钟阅读
张雨

Domain arbitration trends in Asia-Pacific

As companies around the world increase their online presence, identification of IP rights in domain names grows in importance – especially among companies that are involved in e-commerce, providing goods and services using valued trademarks online. Accordingly, cases of cybersquatting are rising year-over-year.1
The rules that govern domain disputes vary in accordance with the extension2 of the domain name. Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) sets out the rules to resolve the disputes of domain names with generic top-level domains (gTLDs) and some country-code top-level domains (ccTLDs)3, while other ccTLD disputes are governed by their own dispute resolution policies.

There are currently six ICANN-accredited dispute resolution providers that adjudicate UDRP disputes around the world: the World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO), the National Arbitration Forum (the Forum), the Asian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Centre (ADNDRC), the Czech Arbitration Court (CAC), the Arab Center for Domain Name Dispute Resolution (ACDR) and the Canadian International Internet Dispute Resolution Center (CIIDRC).4 The supplemental rules, fees and the duration of the proceedings may differ from one to another, but complainants have the freedom to choose the UDRP provider they desire to use to hear their complaint about a domain dispute.

The focus of this article will be on the ADNDRC5 as well as the legal trends of ccTLD arbitration instances in Australia and India.

Asian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Centre (ADNDRC)

The Asian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Centre, with its four offices in Hong Kong (HKIAC), Mainland China (CIETAC), Malaysia (AIAC) and South Korea (IDRC);6 handles UDRP cases from all around the world, regardless of the nationality of the parties. The complainants can choose with which office of ADNDRC they will file the complaint. The fees to be paid when filing a complaint before an ADNRC office vary from $1,300 USD to $3,300 USD for disputes containing up to five domains, depending on the number of panelists requested.7

Although there are certain time limits and procedural rules for the UDRP disputes, the duration of proceedings varies amongst UDRP providers. In Figure 1 we illustrate the average duration of ADNDRC compared to other UDRP providers.

Figure 1: Average duration of UDRP proceedings by court

Source: Darts-ip

Certain factors determine the choice of a provider including filing fees, geographical proximity and average duration of time for rendering a decision. While the statistics in this regard reveal that cases before the ADNDRC may take longer, it’s still the preferred venue for Asian complainants and respondents. It is also worth highlighting from Figure 2 that for complainants residing in the Cayman Islands, the vast majority of cases relate to the complainant companies Alibaba Group and Tencent Holdings.

Figure 2: Nationality/region of complainants, defendants and their respective win rate

Source: Darts-ip

The high number of respondents from Asia can be interpreted in multiple ways. First, complainants domiciled outside of the Asian continent prefer to file the complaints before ADNDRC when the respondent is located near to one of its dispute providers. Knowing that Mainland China has a record number of registrants in the territory8, such a result cannot be deemed surprising.

Secondly, the data suggests that complainants who are domiciled in Asia prefer to file UDRP complaints with a provider with panelists of the same nationality as the respondent. This also confirms that geographical proximity plays a significant role when choosing a UDRP provider.

Deeper look into auDRP and INDRP

Country code TLDs for India (.in) and Australia (.au) are governed by INDRP and auDRP respectively.

Although the filing policies and procedures may seem quite similar to UDRP, especially with auDRP since it is deemed as a variation of UDRP9, the main difference between some Asia dispute providers and UDRP providers can be found in the bad faith assessment for the respondent. While UDRP has a cumulative requirement that the complainant should prove the registration and use of the domain name in bad faith10, auDRP and INDRP take a different approach which finds either use or registration to be sufficient for a ruling on bad faith.11 Accordingly, arbitration instances have had completely different rulings to the matter when deciding on a cybersquatting case. Whereas in some UDRP cases WIPO has made detailed assessment on both use and registration in bad faith12, other panels have ‘inferred’ bad faith registration from the use itself.13 In both scenarios however, the cumulative requirement is fulfilled.

In contrast, INDRP and auDRP panelists have stopped the assessment if either use or registration in bad faith is proven,14 referring to the difference as: “Unlike the UDRP, the requirements of registration in bad faith and use in bad faith are disjunctive. It is only necessary for the Complainant to prove that the disputed domain name was either registered or used in bad faith. It is not necessary to prove both elements.”15

As per the comparison between INDRP and auDRP, although there is no strict distinction as mentioned above for UDRP, Australian arbitration courts, WIPO (for .au) and Indian tribunals have taken somewhat different approaches to domain disputes as well. Figure 3 includes some examples that highlight the difference between three different arbitration forums on the same subjects.16

Figure 3: Comparison of tendencies in different rulings for AU17, WIPO and .IN Tribunals

Source: Darts-ip

In the absence of clear, harmonized and strict rules for domain disputes globally, and in light of the irrefutable effect of jurisprudence on decision-making, it is more important than ever to identify distinctions between the approaches of the courts to the same or similar legal disputes. Having this in mind, we will see how the international nature of the internet will have an impact on the perspectives of ADNDRC, the Asian office of UDRP and the ccTLD dispute providers in the APAC region in terms of harmonization. Within this context, a helicopter view of the legal tendencies as well as the data revealing the different procedural and administrative statistics of the arbitration instances will support decision and policy-making.

 


References

  1. https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/statistics/cases.jsp
  2. Domain extensions are also referred to as Top-Level Domains (TLDs). They can be recognized in a website’s URL at the end. (i.e .com, .eu, .net, .club, etc…)
  3. The info of which ccTLDs are under the competence of UDRP can be found here: https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/cctld/
  4. https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/providers-6d-2012-02-25-en
  5. Asian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Centre
  6. https://www.adndrc.org/about_us
  7. https://www.adndrc.org/files/udrp/ADNDRC-Supplemental-Rules-for-UDRP.pdf
  8. https://domainnamestat.com/statistics/country/others
  9. https://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/cctld/au/index.html
  10. UDRP para 4(a)(iii) see: https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/policy-2012-02-25-en
  11. INDRP para 4(iii) & auDRP para 4(a)(iii) see: https://www.registry.in/IN%20Domain%20Name%20Dispute%20Resolution%20Policy%20%28INDRP%29 & https://www.auda.org.au/policies/index-of-published-policies/2016/2016-01/
  12. darts-919-465-H-en-4: “(…) where a respondent registers a domain name before the complainant’s trademark rights accrue, panels will not normally find bad faith on the part of the respondent. Although this technically ends the matter, as this element of the Policy requires a finding of both registration and use in bad faith, the Panel also finds that the Respondent has not used the Disputed Domain Name in bad faith. It appears the Respondent uses the Disputed Domain Name for business or personal purposes and there is no evidence that this has been in bad faith.”
    darts-174-463-H-en-4: “The Panel finds bad faith in the use but not in the registration of the Domain Name.”
  13. darts-517-955-H-en: “The Panel therefore finds that the use of a domain name parking service constituted bad faith use of the disputed domain name (…). Further, the Panel also observes that the Complainant’s interest in and fame of the (…) trademark combined with the Respondent’s subsequent bad faith use of the disputed domain name would ordinarily be sufficient to allow the inference that the said domain name was also registered in bad faith.”
  14. darts-014-053-I-e: “...as the Respondent’s action to register the said domain name is not bona fide, therefore, the said registration is done in bad faith.”
  15. darts-508-724-H-en
  16. For this project, the decisions of auDRP providers which are located in Australia and DAU decisions of WIPO are taken into account separately.
  17. AU stands for the arbitration instances in Australia.
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
Heidi Zhang
Heidi Zhang