亚太地区的 .BRAND TLD(品牌顶级域名)

2012 年,互联网名称与数字地址分配机构 (ICANN) 启动了新一轮申请(新 “通用顶级域名” ),来自全球各大洲的 1,154 个申请者提交了各自关于运营新通用顶级域名的申请。有意思的是,众多品牌所有者也抓住机会,申请各自的 “. BRAND”TLD(即品牌顶级域名,例如,.MARRIOTT、.BMW 和 .SONY),以建立各自的互联网资产,并宣传和保护各自的网络身份。

在亚太地区,有 105 家企业申请了品牌顶级域名,其中有些企业申请了不止一个。2012年,亚太地区企业共申请了 144 个品牌顶级域名,占申请总数(565个)的 25.5%1

使用 .BRAND TLD(品牌顶级域名)

通过使用品牌顶级域名,品牌所有者可控制“.”(点号)右侧顶级域名以下所有内容及使用方式。品牌顶级域名让品牌所有者能够以非常简短、易记的域名来吸引更多互联网用户访问其网站并向其传递信息,同时还可避免因使用其他通用顶级域名而产生的管理负担。品牌顶级域名可用于:

  • 将流量指向至现有主页
  • 建立微型网站
  • 推出新产品
  • 将品牌二级域名分配给子公司/分支机构并作为其网站
  • 为营销活动提供支持
  • 实施主题策划
  • 创建新的主页

大企业、大品牌顶级域名

在亚太地区的 105 个品牌顶级域名申请者中,有 38 个申请者来自日产 (Nissan)、三星(Samsung) 和丰田 (Toyota) 等《财富》500 强企业2。这些申请的完整列表如下所示3

表 1:亚太地区《财富》500 企业品牌顶级域名申请情况

企业/机构 品牌顶级域名的数量 国家/地区 顶级域名
阿里巴巴 4 中国大陆 .alibaba; .alipay; .taobao; .tmall
日产 3 日本 .datsun; .infiniti; .nissan
普利司通股份有限公司 2 日本 .bridgestone; .firestone
中国联合网络通信集团有限公司 2 中国大陆 .unicom; .联通
中国中信集团有限公司 2 中国大陆 .citic; .中信
中国工商银行 2 中国大陆 .icbc; .工行4
三星 SDS 股份有限公司 2 韩国 .samsung; .삼성
丰田汽车公司 2 日本 .lexus; .toyota
佳能公司 1 日本 .canon
富士通有限公司 1 日本 .fujitsu
日立 1 日本 .hitachi
本田汽车有限公司 1 日本 .honda
现代汽车公司 1 韩国 .hyundai
KDDI 1 日本 .kddi
起亚汽车公司 1 韩国 .kia
三菱 1 日本 .mitsubishi
田边三菱制药株式会社 1 日本 .mtpc
日本电气股份有限公司 1 日本 .nec
日本电报电话公司 1 日本 .ntt
松下公司 1 日本 .panasonic
信实工业有限公司 1 印度 .reliance
软银集团 1 日本 .softbank
索尼电脑娱乐公司 1 日本 .playstation
索尼公司 1 日本 .sony
印度国家银行 1 印度 .statebank
铃木汽车公司 1 日本 .suzuki
塔塔汽车有限公司 1 印度 .tatamotors
东芝公司 1 日本 .toshiba

 

亚太品牌顶级域名的分布情况

在亚太地区的所有国家/地区中,来自日本的申请者数量最多,达 49 个。其次是中国大陆申请者——22 个,以及澳大利亚申请者——19 个5。这在一定程度上可由榜单中来自每个地区的《财富》500 强企业所属的行业来解释。尽管中国大陆登上《财富》500 强榜单的企业数量多于日本,但申请品牌顶级域名的中国企业数量却较少,因为其中大多数企业都是不太依赖在线形态来推动业务发展的制造类企业。相比之下,在《财富》500 强中,有更多日本企业属于科技和消费品行业,这些行业往往更能理解在线品牌形象和知名度的重要性,因而也更能意识到拥有品牌顶级域名的价值。

图 1:品牌顶级域名的分布情况

数据来源:MarkMonitor™(根据 www.makeway.world 网站数据整理)

在品牌顶级域名中,逾半数来自细分行业,并涵盖电信、信息技术、银行、金融和消费电子等多个行业领域。信息技术及银行和金融行业是其中的主要领域,这一点并不令人意外,因为这些行业经常遭遇域名滥用和域名侵权,并且有多个与互联网用户交互的门户网站。

图 2:品牌顶级域名所属行业细分

数据来源:MarkMonitor™(根据 www.makeway.world 网站数据整理)品牌顶级域名上线

.citic”和“.中信”是 2014 年(被写入根域后不久)上线的首个品牌顶级域名。截至 2019 年底,在 144 个品牌顶级域名中,有 86 个已上线。亚太地区一半的品牌顶级域名于 2015 年、2016 年和2017 年上线6

图 3:品牌顶级域名的上线状态

“.citic”和“.中信”是 2014 年(被写入根域后不久)发布的首个品牌顶级域名。截至 2019 年底,在 144 个品牌顶级域名中,有 86 个已发布。亚太地区一半的品牌顶级域名于 2015 年、2016 年和2017 年发布6

图 3:品牌顶级域名的发布状态

数据来源:MarkMonitor™(根据 ICANN 官方数据整理)

图 4:亚太地区品牌顶级域名下二级域名解析情况

上图显示了亚太地区 14 个国家和地区的解析、指向和仅注册域名的数量统计。7

表 2:亚太地区品牌顶级域名使用情况

国家/地区 解析域名 重定向域名 仅注册域名
澳大利亚 101 120 329
巴林 0 0 2
中国大陆 43 8 380
香港 3 14 17
印度 35 7 85
以色列 6 3 12
日本 179 51 373
韩国 3 0 33
科威特 4 35 13
沙特阿拉伯 4 5 8
新加坡 1 5 5
台湾 0 0 0
泰国 5 4 33
阿联酋 1 0 0
总计 385 252 1,290

 

品牌顶级域名运营方面的挑战

如上表所示,亚太地区品牌顶级域名下注册了 1,927 个二级域名,但仅有 637 个属于解析或指向的以及在用的活跃域名。这一比例仅为 33%,而全球范围的平均比例为65.6%(注册总数为 19,550,其中 12,833 个域名属于解析或重定向域名)。

为什么使用自有品牌顶级域名的企业并不多?原因有很多。

首先,许多企业担心,如果将其当前的域名(很可能是 .com 或 .cn)改为品牌顶级域名,可能会造成流量损失。第二个原因在于,浏览器无法很好地识别和支持新通用顶级域名字符串。有时,包含新通用顶级域的域名无法打开,给用户带来糟糕的体验。

此外,品牌顶级域名的运营策略需要经过规划和精心制定,但许多企业缺乏相关的资源。由于不同企业的业务模式、组织架构和产品特点各有不同,因此,并不存在某种通用的品牌顶级域名使用模式可供各品牌所有者参考。由于缺乏专业知识和相关资源,制定运营政策及规程对于品牌所有者而言是非常具有挑战性的。

第四个原因可能是品牌企业内部缺乏沟通。例如,技术或营销团队可能还不知道有一个品牌顶级域名可用。如果某人需要申请品牌顶级域名下的某个域名,可能需要完成复杂的内部流程。

最后,一些品牌企业只是想先看看其他企业是如何使用其品牌顶级域名的,然后吸取成功经验或失败教训。这条学习曲线较为陡峭,因此,品牌所有者一般比较谨慎。他们在市场中看到的品牌顶级域名越多,就越有可能上线使用自己的品牌顶级域名。

展望未来

品牌顶级域名让品牌所有者有机会将自己的品牌名称用作顶级域名,并管理该顶级域名下的互联网空间。鉴于品牌顶级域名目前尚未得到普遍使用,因此,我们仍然需要努力地传播域名知识,并让品牌顶级域名运营商参与到行业讨论之中。随着时间的推移,我们将看到越来越多的品牌顶级域名上线,并为品牌所有者提供更多的价值。

虽然部分品牌所有者在 2012 年主动提交了品牌顶级域名申请,但仍有许多企业错失了这一机会,因而必须等待至下一轮新通用顶级域名申请期(预计在 2022 年的某个时间段)。与此同时,在品牌顶级域名的使用方面,各品牌所有者将以各自行业的竞争者和先行者为标杆。由于首轮申请中的新通用顶级域名已覆盖大量普通词和简短词,因此,在下一轮申请中,品牌顶级域名申请的数量有望超过通用顶级域名申请的数量。

 


参考文献

  1. https://statshub.makeway.world/brand-detail-table.php
  2. https://fortune.com/fortune500/
  3. https://gtldresult.icann.org/applicationstatus/viewstatus 工行 was deleted on April 1st, 2020 based on IANA whois https://www.iana.org/whois?q=xn--estv75g.
  4. 工行”已于2020年4月1日在根域中删除,通过IANA whois可查https://www.iana.org/whois?q=xn--estv75g
  5. https://gtldresult.icann.org/applicationstatus/viewstatus
  6. https://newgtlds.icann.org/en/program-status/sunrise-claims-periods
  7. https://statshub.makeway.world/brand-detail-table.php
分享这篇文章

Darts-ip
2 分钟阅读
Hazal Çisem Aynalı
MarkMonitor
< 1 分钟阅读
张雨

.BRAND TLDs in the Asia-Pacific region

In 2012, when the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) launched its application round for new gTLDs, 1,154 applicants from every continent across the globe filed applications to operate new gTLDs. Interestingly, many brand owners also seized the opportunity to apply for their own .BRAND TLDs (for example, .MARRIOTT, .BMW, and .SONY) in order to create their own internet real estate and promote and protect their online identity.

In the Asia-Pacific (APAC) region of the world, 105 companies applied for .BRAND TLDs with some companies applying for more than one. A total of 144 .BRAND TLDs were applied for by companies in Asia-Pacific. This count makes up 25.5% of the total .BRAND TLD applications (565) filed in 2012.1

Usage of a .BRAND TLD

A .BRAND TLD provides brand owners with the ability to control all content and use of a name space to the right of the ’dot.’ With a .BRAND TLD, brand owners can drive internet traffic to websites and relay information with very short and memorable domains and also save themselves trouble from managing domains under other generic TLDs. A .BRAND domain name can be used to:

  • redirect traffic to an existing home page;
  • build a microsite;
  • launch new products;
  • allocate brand SLDs to subsidiaries/branches as their website;
  • support marketing activities;
  • deliver a themed program; and
  • create a new home page.

Big companies, Big .BRANDs

Among the 105 APAC applicants that filed for .BRAND TLDs, 38 belong to Fortune 500 companies2 such as Nissan, Samsung and Toyota. A complete breakdown of these applications is shown in the table below.3 Other notable companies that applied for a .BRAND include Seiko, Nikon, ShangriLa and Baidu.

Organization No. of brand TLDs Country/region TLDs
Alibaba 4 China, Mainland .alibaba; .alipay; .taobao; .tmall
NISSAN 3 Japan .datsun; .infiniti; .nissan
Bridgestone Corporation 2 Japan .bridgestone; .firestone
China United Network Communications Corporation Limited 2 China, Mainland .unicom; .联通
CITIC Group Corporation 2 China, Mainland .citic; .中信
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China 2 China, Mainland .icbc; .工行4
SAMSUNG SDS Co., LTD 2 South Korea .samsung; .삼성
Toyota Motor Corporation 2 Japan .lexus; .toyota
Canon Inc. 1 Japan .canon
Fujitsu Limited 1 Japan .fujitsu
Hitachi 1 Japan .hitachi
Honda Motor Co., Ltd. 1 Japan .honda
Hyundai Motor Company 1 South Korea .hyundai
KDDI 1 Japan .kddi
KIA Motors Corporation 1 South Korea .kia
Mitsubishi 1 Japan .mitsubishi
Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma Corporation 1 Japan .mtpc
NEC Corporation 1 Japan .nec
NIPPON Telegraph and Telephone Company 1 Japan .ntt
Panasonic Corporation 1 Japan .panasonic
Reliance Industries Limited 1 India .reliance
Softbank Corp. 1 Japan .softbank
Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. 1 Japan .playstation
Sony Corporation 1 Japan .sony
State Bank of India 1 India .statebank
Suzuki Motor Corporation 1 Japan .suzuki
Tata Motors Ltd 1 India .tatamotors
TOSHIBA Corporation 1 Japan .toshiba

 

APAC .BRAND TLD Distribution

Applicants from Japan filed the most .BRAND TLD applications among all APAC countries/regions with 49. Mainland Chinese companies followed with 22, and Australian applicants filed for 19.4 This is partly explained by the industry sector of the Fortune 500 companies from each region on the list. Although Mainland China has more companies listed on the Fortune 500 than Japan, fewer companies in China applied for a .BRAND because most are manufacturing companies that do not depend heavily on an online presence in order to drive business. More Japanese companies on the Fortune 500 are technology and consumer goods focused, sectors which tend to understand better the importance of online brand presence and awareness and therefore would be more aware of the value of having a .BRAND.

Figure 1: .BRAND TLD Distribution

Source: MarkMonitor

Industry segmentation made up more than half of the .BRAND TLDs and spanned a variety of industry sectors including telecommunications, information technology, banking and financial and consumer electronics. It not surprising that the IT and the banking and financial sectors were a major focus, as these industries are often the target of abuse and domain name infringement and they have multiple portals to interact with internet users.

Figure 2: .BRAND industry segmentation

Source: MarkMonitor

 

Launching a .Brand TLD

The first launched .BRAND TLDs were .citic and .中信, in 2014 soon after they were delegated. As of the end of 2019, 86 of the 144 .BRAND TLDs had launched. Half of APAC’s .BRAND TLDs were launched in 2015, 2016 and 2017.5

Figure 3: .BRAND launch status

Source: MarkMonitor

 

Figure 4: Website resolution

In the table below, you can see the top down ranking of resolving, redirecting and registered only domain volume in 14 countries and regions in APAC.6

Country/region Resolving domains Redirecting domains Registered only domains
Australia 101 120 329
Bahrain 0 0 2
China, Mainland 43 8 380
Hong Kong 3 14 17
India 35 7 85
Israel 6 3 12
Japan 179 51 373
South Korea 3 0 33
Kuwait 4 35 13
Saudi Arabia 4 5 8
Singapore 1 5 5
Taiwan 0 0 0
Thailand 5 4 33
United Arab Emirates 1 0 0
Total 385 252 1,290

 

Challenges to .BRAND Operation

As seen in the table above, there are 1,927 second level domains registered under APAC .BRAND TLDs, but only 637 active domain names that resolve or redirect and that are actively in use. The percentage is only 33%, while the global number is 65.6% (total registration is 19,550 while 12,833 domain names are resolving or redirecting).

Why aren’t more companies using their .BRAND TLDs? The reasons are many.

First, many companies are concerned they might lose traffic if they switch from their current domain name (most likely a .COM or .CN) to a .BRAND. A second reason is that the new gTLDs strings are not well recognized or supported by browsers. Sometimes a domain name with a new gTLD cannot be opened and causes a bad user experience.

In addition, operational policies for a .BRAND take planning and effort to develop and many companies don’t have resources to commit to this effort. As companies have unique business models, organizational structures and product features, there is no single universal .BRAND usage pattern for brand owners to refer to. It is very challenging for brand owners to develop operational policies and procedures due to lack of proficiency and resources.

A fourth reason for the lack of usage can be an absence of communication within the brand company. For example, the technical or marketing team may not know that they have a .BRAND TLD to make use of. If anyone needs to apply for a domain name under a .BRAND, the internal process can be difficult.

Finally, some brands just want to wait and see how others are using their .BRAND TLDs and learn from their successes or failures. The learning curve is steep and brand owners are generally cautious. The more .BRANDS they see in the marketplace, the more inclined they may be to launch their own.

 

Looking Ahead

.BRAND TLDs provide brand owners the opportunity to use their brand names as their top-level domain and manage the internet space under it. Based on the current status of how .BRAND TLDs are used, there is still work to be done in socializing domain knowledge and engaging .BRAND TLD operators in industry discussions. As time goes on, we will see more and more .BRAND TLDs come online and serve brand owners better.

Although some brand owners took the initiative and applied for their brand TLDs in 2012, there are many companies that missed this opportunity and must wait for the next round of new gTLD applications to open, expected sometime in 2022. In the meantime, brands will benchmark against their peers and the pioneers in .BRAND TLD usage. Because the first round of new gTLDs covered a lot of generic and short words, the number of .BRAND applications in the next round is expected to surpass the number of generic TLDs.

 


References

  1. https://statshub.makeway.world/brand-detail-table.php
  2. https://fortune.com/fortune500/
  3. https://gtldresult.icann.org/applicationstatus/viewstatus
  4. 工行 was deleted on April 1st, 2020 based on IANA whois https://www.iana.org/whois?q=xn--estv75g.
  5. https://newgtlds.icann.org/en/program-status/sunrise-claims-periods
  6. https://newgtlds.icann.org/en/program-status/sunrise-claims-periods
  7. https://statshub.makeway.world/brand-detail-table.php
Share this article

Related articles
RETURN TO ARTICLE MENU →
Hazal Çisem Aynalı
Heidi Zhang